Asus Hackintosh-Updating to 10.6.6

Hey Guys, I know I have been lacking on posts lately, so I will try to resume more frequently as soon as I get back from vacation on the 17th. Anyway, I had some time on the flight, so I figured out how to update to 10.6.6.

1) If you do not have the 10.6.5 kernel anymore (the 10.4.0 kernel), then go back to my blog and download the link to the package I have hosted. Once you do, move the 10.6.5 Kernel (located within the 10.6.5 Kernel folder) to the desktop.

2) Backup the AppleIntelGMA950.kext, the AppleIntelIntegratedFrameBuffer.kext, and the IO802Family.kextYou can simply just make a folder on your desktop to keep it simple.

3) Run the 10.6.6 Combo Update, but when it prompts you to restart your netbook, minimize or hide the window.

4) Then follow the command line prompts I have said to use, which i will repost below:
*sudo -s (and then enter password)*cd /*mv mach_kernel mach_kernel_1062*cp ~/Desktop/mach_kernel_atom /* mv /mach_kernel_atom mach_kernel*chown 0:0 mach_kernel
The “*” above are not what you type into terminal, they are just bullet points.

5) Go back to the 10.6.6 Combo Update window and click the restart button. Once the computer boots back up, replace the kexts you backed up to the /system/library/extentions folder.

6) Go to the root of your Macintosh HD drive and run pfix. Once this is done, restart your computer and you should be completely updated to 10.6.6
NOTE: Some people are saying that there have been some problems with the Sleep feature on the hackintosh. If you fear that this may happen, I would recommend backing up your SleepEnabler.kext file as well and restoring it with the other kexts after updating.
Hope this helps. Post any comments, questions or concerns and I will reply as soon as I can, as I am away on vacation this week.

Technotalkblog

 

    • Jon
    • January 15th, 2011

    So to update to 10.6.6, we are going to use the 10.4.0 mach kernel for 10.6.4? Does the 10.6.0 mach kernel not work? (no typos)

    These are the kernels I’m talking about:
    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=197020&pid=1622111&mode=threaded&start=200#entry1622111

    • Like I have said before, I am on vacation and will not be back til monday night. I will be testing to see which kernel you can use. I have heard you can use the 10.4.0 mach kernel to update to 10.6.6. Since there is the updated kernel on that link, I will try that one first once I get back to the States to see which one works.

        • Jon
        • January 16th, 2011

        Have a great vacation! I will also try it out myself if I have time.

    • John
    • February 6th, 2011

    Hello, and thanks for this awesome guide. I’ll be starting step two today. I have a question though: when updating, do we need to go through each update from .0 to .6, or can we simply update to .6 from the base install? Thanks in advance for any answer, and if I missed something in the directions that answered my question already, let me know.

    • You need to update to 10.6.4 first, then 10.6.5, then 10.6.6.

        • John
        • February 8th, 2011

        Excellent, I’m up to 10.6.5 right now, going to update to .6. One question, can I use the 10.6.6 legacy kernel posted in the forums at InsanelyMac, or should I stick to 10.6.5 legacy?

      • I would stick with the 10.6.5 kernel. I never saw any difference between the 10.6.5 kernel and the 10.6.6 kernel. If you were using a higher level machine, like a dual core or quad core, I’d say use the legacy kernel, for stability reasons. But for a netbook it makes no difference.

    • Marujay
    • February 28th, 2011

    Thanks for the info. I have just used your guide along with others to get mac os x installed on a qnap nas with an atom processor. Where did you get the kernels from? They were the missing piece i needed to get it updated to 10.6.6.
    Cheers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

